Home » Updates » Story updates » Seeking closure

Seeking closure

TL;DR – Concluding chapter for Wordless –

Read Wordless chapter 2:

https://www.fictionpress.com/s/2784733/2/Wordless

Read Wordless chapter 1:

https://www.fictionpress.com/s/2784733/1/Wordless

Or you can simply use the drop down menu at fictionpress.


Many things have happened for the past years, so did every one else’s no doubt and I’ve been caught in these waves and waves of emotional rollercoasters either as a direct or indirect result or even aftermath of real life drama. I’m not going to bore you with all the details – not because it’s boring, but because the matter is over and I don’t want to hang anyone’s dirty linens out to dry.

People make mistakes, sometimes irreversible mistakes which scars another for life but when these mistakes are acknowledged, dealt with, we learn to forgive, move on and never forget. My views often clash with the elders this way – in their generation, they learned to forgive and forget. Maybe because they want to move on without any baggage. Whatever the reasons, forget that anything happened, especially for grave mistakes, is a catastrophic mistake anybody can make.

This view is especially in line with the ISO 9002 compliant company I am working in now. Mind you I’m not an expert in ISO standards but one thing we learn fast and early when first joining the company is that making the same mistake twice or thrice (especially one that results in monetary loss) warrants a warning letter or getting fired from the job.

But people are not heartless you see, so when a mistake is made, we’re to document the how’s and why’s of the origin of the mistake and then followed by the how’s and when’s of how countermeasures would be in place to prevent the same mistake.

Which brings me to the point of – if a person can make a mistake once, what guarantees that person wouldn’t commit it again in the future?

Thus it is very important that even though we have forgave someone, or some people, that we do not forget all that has happened so we do not commit the same (grave) mistake twice.

Isn’t that why we study history in school? (of course that’s not the only reason we study history)

Anyway, matters over, aftermath settled (still settling actually, the effects of emotional damage lasts as long as eternity), so it’s time to seek closure.

Which I did. It’s not a watertight closure, the past still seeps through from time to time but not enough to cause any real issues.

So then I decided to take my life back bit by bit. Not all of it of course, now that I share a life with another significant half, but still, I want the part where it rejuvenates the soul back and that is none other than writing.

After not writing fiction for years, I was getting rusty, my gears were hardly moving. So I came up with an idea to use other people’s idea to get started. Whose better idea to get than that you live, breathe and sleep with everyday?

So we have a sort of collaboration going on, I started with a few intros and then realised how lacking I am in world knowledge so this is going to take a while.

In the midst of doing so I realised having closure in my personal life wasn’t enough, I wanted closure for my fictional characters as well so I may sleep in peace and not dream up their angst whenever the past creeps back.

And so, here is the conclusion to “Wordless”, a 3K worded chapter with dialogues to conclude a 600 word short story without dialogues.

Life is funny like that sometimes.


Read Wordless chapter 2:

https://www.fictionpress.com/s/2784733/2/Wordless

Read Wordless chapter 1:

https://www.fictionpress.com/s/2784733/1/Wordless

Or you can simply use the drop down menu at fictionpress.

Leave a Reply

